A glitzy evening at 25th Seoul Music Awards with EXO’s record breaking win!

EXO breaks records at 25th SMA's!!

Kpop India

The glittering ceremony of 25th Seoul Music Awards (SMA’s) came to an end with EXO setting records by winning the Daesang award for third time in a row amidst much fanfare.

The event held on January 14th at Olympics Gymnastics Arena in Seoul was hosted by Jun Hyun Moo, EXID’s Hani and Honey Lee. With our favorite idols walking the red carpet with glitz and glamour, breathtaking performances from the artists and winning speeches, it was a indeed a blissful evening.

The 25th SMA’s saw EXO walking away with the highest honor, Daesang award (Grand Prize) for three consecutive years now. EXO also won the Bongsang award and the Hallyu Special Award too. The three major awards of the evening were –

Daesang Award                                    (Grand Prize)     EXO

Record of the Year in Digital Release  (Best Single)     Big Bang (Bang Bang Bang)

Record of the Year                                (Best Album)     BOA (Kiss My Lips)

The main award of the evening, Bongsang Award went on to 12 artists.

Bongsang Award  (Main Prize)             A-Pink, Big Bang, BTS, EXO, EXID, Red Velvet, SHINee, Sistar, Taeyeon,VIXX,Yoon Mi Rae,and Zion.T

The other awards of the night were-

Popularity Award                                                      Xiah Junsu (JYJ)
Dance Performance Award                                        Ailee, Monsta X
New Artist Award                                                       GFriend, Seventeen and iKON
R&B Award                                                                San.E
OST Award                                                                Jang Jae In (Kill Me Heal Me)
Performance Culture Award                                      Hyukoh
Ballad Award                                                              BTOB
Trot Award                                                                  Hong Jin Young
Hallyu Special Award                                                EXO
Our heartiest congratulations to all the winners!
While the evening was filled with beautiful performances by the artists, the event also saw an outrage by XIA Junsu fans because of their idol who was not invited to the event despite winning the popularity award. Junsu garnered 46.7 percent votes online, winning the popularity award as Korea’s most popular musician despite a tv appearance ban.
It was also reported that Jun Hyun Moo who co-hosted the event had to face bashing from netizens due to his comedic innuendo aimed at his co-host Hani and Junsu’s relationship.His continuos remarks made Hani cry eventually.
Seoul Music Awards are held annually to honor outstanding achievement by artists in South Korean music industry.
Take a look at some of the pictures from the event below!
PC- Credit as tagged/SportsSeoul



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here