Happy 7th Anniversary to T-ARA!


Having debuted on July 29, 2009, veteran KPop girl group T-ara is celebrating their 7th anniversary today! Congratulations to the members Eunjung, Hyomin, Jiyeon, Qri, Boram, and Soyeon, and their fanclub, Queens!

Upon their debut in 2009, T-ARA was a five member group consisting of Jiae, Jiwon, Eunjung, Hyomin, and Jiyeon. They originally debuted with the song, “Good Person” (좋은 사람; Joheun Saram) for the Korean drama, Cinderella Man in April of 2009. Before their debut, there was a high level of interest in the group as they were called the “Super Rookies” and had been training for three years prior.  

DKPop India
T-ARA Debut Countdown

Soon after, members Jiae and Jiwon left the group and T-ARA re-debuted with tho hree new members Boram, Soyeon, and Qri and became a 6 member group on July 30, 2009 with their song: “Lie” (거짓말; Geojitmal). Later in December 2009, the group came out with their first full length, Absolute First Album, that included their breakout hit, “Bo Peep Bo Peep.

Their first extended play entitled “Temptastic” came out in 2010. In 2011, they signed on with EMI Music for their promotions in Japan. 2013 saw the creation of their first subunit, T-ARA N4, consisting of members Eunjung, Hyomin, Jiyeon, and Areum. The sub-unit debuted on April 29, 2013, with the song “Jeon Won Diary” (전원일기). In July of 2013, Areum left the group to continue her solo carrier and Qri took on the position of the leader.

In 2015, their agency, MBK Entertainment, formed a project group, “TS”, with artists Eunjung and Soyeon of T-ARA, Cho Seunghee, Minkyung (The SeeYa), Ki-o, Jongkook and Sejoon (SPEED). They debuted with the track, “Don’t Forget Me.” Later on in the year, T-ARA came out their their web series, Sweet Temptation. T-ARA furthered their international career by signing with Banana Plan in China.

In the spring of 2016, T-ARA became official ambassadors for the Vietnamese smartphone brand, Pantech. A comeback is expected from the group in the second half of the year.

Their current lineup consists of:

Boram (보람, born Jeon Boram (전보람))
Qri (큐리, born Lee Ji-hyun (이지현)) (Leader)
Soyeon (소연, born Park In-jung (박인정))
Eunjung (은정, born Hahm Eun-jung (함은정))
Hyomin (효민, born Park Sun-young (박선영))
Jiyeon (지연, born Park Ji-yeon (박지연)) (Maknae)

T-ARA is considered the most popular Korean girl group in China, having the most number of fans in their official fanclub. Their other accomplishments include winning the best fan army award from Billboard in 2015, with their fanclub Queens having cast over 3.4 million votes to emerge the winner over 64 other fan bases including international artists all over the world.

Some of T-ARA’s signature hits include “Lie”, “Bo Peep Bo Peep”, “Yayaya”, “Roly-Poly”, “Lovey Dovey”, “Number Nine”, “Sugar Free” and “So Crazy”:

We at Destination KPop pray for T-ARA’s continued success, and hope to celebrate their 20th anniversary with them as well!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here